Skip to main content
Experience Section

Learn how the emotions section works in the CJM tool

Tanya from UXPressia avatar
Written by Tanya from UXPressia
Updated this week

Having an experience section on your journey map is useful for a number of reasons:

  • it helps you see how the customer is doing overall at each stage of the journey;

  • it highlights the most important moments and helping viewers to focus on the most important details when looking at a large map;

  • it can be a nice touch to the overall visual punch of your presentation.

UXPressia features the experience section by default. However, if you want to add another one to your journey map, click on the “Add section” button at the bottom of the page and then select “Experience” from the list. 

adding experience graph section

You can display the emotional journey of multiple personas in the same section:

emotional graphs

Note: You can add up to 5 personas to the experience section.

Customize the section

To customize the section, hit the gear wheel right next to the section's name and you will see the “Settings” popup appear on the screen. 

If you have none or one persona on the map, the settings will look like that:

emotion section settings

Let’s take a quick look at each of the settings.

  1. "Emotion 1" and "Emotion 2". You can have one or two experience graphs for one persona. You can use two graphs to, for instance, compare as-is and to-be emotional journeys of the persona.

  2. The “Experience lines” graph allows you to customize the number of lines that will be displayed in the experience section of your CJM. You can choose anything from 1 to 10 lines. 

  3. In the “Show emoticons as” section, you can switch between smiley faces and plain circles.

  4. Customize the color of your emoticons in the “Use custom color” section.

  5. Include or exclude the names of the displayed emotions in the last section of the window. By the way, you can come up with your own names for emotions and type them instead of the default ones.

As for maps with multiple personas in the experience section, you can manage each experience line's color settings separately.

multiple personas experiences

Show persona's feelings

To show what your persona feels at each stage of the journey, drag the emoticon up and down across the lines by clicking and holding the dotted button to the left of the emoji.


You can set emoticon colors individually, pick an emotion, add some emotion-related text as a note, and delete the existing emoticon if you want.

To switch the emoticon, click on it and choose the one you need from the list of 24 primary emotions.

emotion icons

But that's not all. Click on the “See all” button to view the emotion wheel. The wheel features 8 basic emotions that serve as the foundation for all others: joy, trust, fear, surprise, sadness, disgust, anger, anticipation.

The intensity of emotions decreases as you move from the center of the circle. So varying emotions from very strong to not so much produces a diverse amount of emotions.

emotion wheel

By clicking on any of these basic emotions, you open another popup that illustrates its combinations with the other 6 basic emotions, with the opposite one being not included.

basic emotions

In addition to that, mixing basic emotions with similar ones produces new emotions, for example (e.g., love = joy+ trust), and these emotions are located in between.

You can click on emotions to see their descriptions:

selecting emotions

Hope these are enough for you to describe all of the emotions that your customer feels during their journey!

Did this answer your question?