So you signed up at UXPressia and are wondering if there's a way to use UXPressia effectively across your team or maybe even departments. Good news - yes, there is!

And in this article, we'll see how you can set up a workspace for you and your teammates, no matter how many.

But first, you need to understand the concept of workspaces.

What Are Workspaces?

At UXPressia, each user has a workspace (called Personal Workspace) — an instance of the dashboard where they can create and store projects, journey and impact maps, and personas.

You can keep your workspace for yourself, or you can invite your teammates into it to leverage teamwork and collaborate more efficiently.

⚠️ Note that you can have multiple workspaces, but usually you don't need that as each workspace has a separate subscription and is billed separately. This functionality is there for those cases when you have many teams working in parallel on a variety of complex projects and need to work in isolation with different billing cycles. In most cases, this is just a level of complexity that you do not need.

The bottom line here is this — in 9 out of 10 cases, it's best to keep a single workspace for as many teammates as you need.

Accounts vs. Workspaces

So what's the difference between an account and a workspace?

  • Think of accounts as separate logins you and your team members use to enter UXPressia.
  • Workspaces are the environments where you can keep projects, maps, and personas.

Each account has a Personal Workspace by default and can have more. And then, each workspace can be used by either a single individual or a team of individuals.

Why is a single workspace useful?

That’s okay if you decide to have your team using separate workspaces and share their projects with each other via email. But it's not the most efficient option.

Here are the reasons why having a single workspace for your team is awesome:

  • You can handle billing from a single place.
  • You can transfer licenses from a teammate to a teammate when someone joins or leaves the team/project.
  • You can increase/decrease the number of licenses as needed.
  • Projects created in the given workspace will be available to all workspace members, eliminating the need to share projects via email or a direct link.
  • You can create a separate folder with templates so the teammates can copy them to their own projects.
  • You can set up custom branding and integrations for the workspace, which will be available to all the members.
  • You can use mentions within a workspace.

Note that every teammate will have a private folder to store private projects that other workspace members cannot see.

How to set up a single workspace for your team

1. First things first, you need to decide who will be the primary owner of your team workspace. Ideally, this should be a permanent member of the team (maybe the team lead) who will need to have the ability to manage team licenses.

2. The person then should upgrade their Personal Workspace, as shown in this instruction setting the number of users that you will need.

❗ Note that you need to purchase only as many licenses as many contributors you want to have. A contributor is someone who can create projects, maps, and personas and also update them, share, export, and do everything that a PRO user can do. 

If you have other people who will be either just viewing the project’s progress or participate in sessions and make light edits to maps and personas, you can use direct sharing — you don't need a paid account for them! And if you want someone to have view-only access to all projects in your workspace, you can assign them a Viewer role — you won’t be charged for Viewers and can have as many of them as needed.

It will also make more sense to rename the Personal Workspace to Team Workspace to make it easier for the other folks to locate the right workspace once they join.

3. Once you upgraded the workspace, you can start inviting your teammates. Be cautious to keep the number of invitees the Contributor role within the range of the number of users you stated when upgrading your account. If you go over that range, you will be automatically charged for every new Contributor. Note that PRO workspaces can have as many users with the charge-free Viewer role as needed.

And that's how you set up your workspace for your team! If you have unanswered questions after reading this, make sure to let us know via the live chat below.

Did this answer your question?